Prevagen vs Focus Factor: Servings, Ingredient Detail and Our Choice

Advertisement feature by Rootana. We benefit financially from sales of our top recommended products.

Prevagen and Focus Factor Original differ most in scope: a short apoaequorin formula versus nutrients plus a nootropic blend. ThinkEase is our preferred disclosed middle ground. Pure Mind offers the same wider active selection with a smaller serving.

Our best overall recommendation

ThinkEase

ThinkEase leads our formula-based shortlist. Pure Mind is the smaller-serving choice, and both offer a clean label with pullulan capsule and rice hull concentrate.

See ThinkEase’s full formula

Prevagen beside ThinkEase

Version assessed: Regular Strength capsules, 10 mg apoaequorin. Comparison basis: 1 capsule.

Amounts refer to the stated serving for each product, not one capsule. Extract weights, raw-herb equivalents and elemental mineral amounts are different measurements.

Swipe the table to see every product column.

Complete active-ingredient comparison
Ingredient ThinkEase
4 capsules
Prevagen
1 capsule
Focus Factor
4 tablets
Acetyl L-carnitine 750 mg; hydrochloride Not included Not included
Lion’s mane 550 mg; fruiting body Not included Not included
Bacopa 300 mg; 50% bacosides Not included Whole-herb extract; included in 640 mg blend, individual amount not disclosed
N-acetyl L-tyrosine 275 mg Not included N-acetyl tyrosine; included in 640 mg blend, individual amount not disclosed
Citicoline 250 mg Not included Not included
L-theanine 200 mg Not included Not included
Rhodiola 200 mg; 3% rosavins and 1% salidroside Not included Not included
Phosphatidylserine 100 mg; sunflower Not included Phosphatidylserine; included in 640 mg blend, individual amount not disclosed
Pine bark 75 mg; 95% proanthocyanidins Not included Not included
Saffron 30 mg; 0.3% safranal Not included Not included
PQQ 10 mg Not included Not included
Lutein 10 mg Not included Not included
Zeaxanthin 2 mg Not included Not included
Vitamin B6 2.5 mg; P5P Not included 15 mg; Vitamin B6 (as pyridoxal-alpha-ketoglutarate, pyridoxal 5-phosphate)
Folate 167 mcg DFE from 100 mcg L-5-methylfolate Not included 665 mcg DFE; Folate (400 mcg folic acid)
Vitamin B12 7.5 mcg; methylcobalamin Not included 20 mcg; Vitamin B12 (as cyanocobalamin ion exchange resin)
Apoaequorin Not included 10 mg Not included
Vitamin D3 Not included 50 mcg 2.5 mcg; Vitamin D (as cholecalciferol)
Vitamin A Not included Not included 1,200 mcg; Vitamin A (as CaroCare® natural beta-carotene and Betatene® mixed carotenoids)
Vitamin C Not included Not included 250 mg; Vitamin C (as ascorbic acid, sodium ascorbate, calcium ascorbate, potassium ascorbate, zinc ascorbate, and ascorbyl palmitate)
Vitamin E Not included Not included 20.1 mg; Vitamin E (as d-alpha-tocopheryl succinate)
Vitamin B1 Not included Not included 3 mg; Thiamin (as thiamine mononitrate)
Vitamin B2 Not included Not included 1.7 mg; Riboflavin
Vitamin B3 Not included Not included 25 mg; Niacin (from inositol hexanicotinate and 50% as niacinamide)
Biotin Not included Not included 300 mcg; Biotin
Vitamin B5 Not included Not included 12 mg; Pantothenic acid (as d-calcium pantothenate)
Choline Provided through citicoline; see its separate row. Compound weight is not the amount of choline. Not included 30 mg; Choline (as choline bitartrate)
Calcium Not included Not included 50 mg; Calcium (as calcium citrate, calcium succinate and calcium ascorbate)
Iron Not included Not included 5 mg; Iron (as carbonyl iron)
Iodine Not included Not included 15 mcg; Iodine (as kelp (whole plant) extract)
Magnesium Not included Not included 100 mg; Magnesium (as magnesium citrate, magnesium malate and magnesium taurinate)
Zinc Not included Not included 10 mg; Zinc (as zinc citrate and zinc ascorbate)
Selenium Not included Not included 50 mcg; Selenium (as selenomethionine)
Copper Not included Not included 0.4 mg; Copper (as copper citrate and TRAACS® copper glycinate chelate)
Manganese Not included Not included 2 mg; Manganese (as manganese citrate)
Chromium Not included Not included 100 mcg; Chromium (as chromium polynicotinate)
Molybdenum Not included Not included 10 mcg; Molybdenum (as molybdenum amino acid chelate)
Potassium Not included Not included 50 mg; Potassium (as potassium citrate, potassium aspartate and potassium ascorbate)
DMAE Not included Not included Dimethylaminoethanol as DMAE bitartrate; included in 640 mg blend, individual amount not disclosed
L-glutamine Not included Not included L-glutamine; included in 640 mg blend, individual amount not disclosed
L-pyroglutamic acid Not included Not included L-pyroglutamic acid; included in 640 mg blend, individual amount not disclosed
DHA Not included Not included Fish-body-oil concentrate, 15% DHA; anchovy, sardine and salmon; included in 640 mg blend, individual amount not disclosed
Inositol Not included Not included Inositol; included in 640 mg blend, individual amount not disclosed
Bilberry Not included Not included Fruit extract, 25% anthocyanosides; included in 640 mg blend, individual amount not disclosed
GABA Not included Not included Gamma-aminobutyric acid; included in 640 mg blend, individual amount not disclosed
Grape whole-fruit extract Not included Not included Grape whole-fruit extract; included in 640 mg blend, individual amount not disclosed
Grape seed Not included Not included Activin grape-seed extract; included in 640 mg blend, individual amount not disclosed
Vinpocetine Not included Not included Vinpocetine; included in 640 mg blend, individual amount not disclosed
Sodium chloride Not included Not included Sodium chloride; included in 640 mg blend, individual amount not disclosed
Huperzine A Not included Not included From toothed clubmoss whole-herb extract; included in 640 mg blend, individual amount not disclosed
Boron Not included Not included Boron citrate; included in 640 mg blend, individual amount not disclosed
Vanadium Not included Not included Vanadyl sulfate; included in 640 mg blend, individual amount not disclosed

“Not included” indicates confirmed absence from the assessed formula. “Not verified” identifies a gap in the information available for this comparison; it does not mean the manufacturer hides the amount.

ThinkEase: 16 active ingredients; caffeine-free. Compare botanical extracts by both amount and specification, not milligrams alone.

Prevagen: Regular Strength capsules. Extra Strength, Professional Strength and chewables are different versions.

Focus Factor: Original adult formula. All 24 separately quantified nutrients and all members of the 640 mg proprietary formulation are shown. Contains fish and soy. Standard serving is 4 tablets; taking 8 doubles the amounts shown.

Capsule and other ingredients

ThinkEase: Pullulan capsule and NuFLOW rice-hull concentrate.

Prevagen: Other-ingredient list not verified for this version.

Focus Factor: Other-ingredient list not verified for this version.

Version assessed: Original adult tablets. Comparison basis: 4 tablets.

A long label does not always provide more dose information

Focus Factor shows individual nutrient quantities, but several nootropic ingredients share a 640 mg blend. Prevagen’s two active amounts are straightforward to identify. One product lists more ingredients, while the other makes its narrow purchase easier to understand.

Think about what you already take

Focus Factor may overlap with a multivitamin, including iron and B vitamins. That is a reason to inspect the combined routine, not an automatic criticism of the product. Prevagen instead adds apoaequorin and vitamin D.

We prefer ThinkEase for a nootropic-focused selection whose individual amounts can be compared without relying on a shared blend total.

Where Rootana Pure Mind fits

Pure Mind fits readers who want the inspectable blend but prefer three capsules. It does not act as a replacement for every nutrient in Focus Factor. ThinkEase ranks first for the fuller quantities, and its clean-label profile is the same pullulan-and-rice-hull approach used in Pure Mind.

Read about Rootana Pure Mind

Alternatives: our three recommended options

1 · Best overall

ThinkEase

The fuller four-capsule choice, with 16 stated active amounts. It supplies 300 mg bacopa, 250 mg citicoline and 200 mg theanine. Its clean label uses only pullulan capsule and rice hull concentrate as other ingredients.

Explore ThinkEase

2 · Smaller serving · clean profile

Rootana Pure Mind

Our three-capsule option keeps the same 16-active selection, generally at about three-quarters of ThinkEase’s amounts. It supplies 225 mg bacopa and 187.5 mg citicoline. Both brands share the same short pullulan-and-rice-hull other-ingredient list.

See Rootana Pure Mind

3 · Basic alternative

Mind Vitality

A botanical formula whose official table includes bacopa, lion’s mane and phosphatidylserine. It is our third choice behind the more fully specified leading formulas. Use the official Mind Vitality destination below for the product discussed here.

See official Mind Vitality

Read the individual assessments: Prevagen review and Focus Factor review.

Assessment and suitability

These recommendations come from Rootana’s review of identified product versions and relevant research. We have not personally tested these products for this article. We favor clear quantities, appropriate ingredient detail and a practical serving. Those criteria do not establish that the highest dose or longest list produces the best clinical result.

Product information checked 7 September 2026. Formulas can change; check the exact current version before buying. A supplement is not a treatment for a cognitive disorder. Seek professional advice for new or worsening symptoms, or to check suitability with medications and health conditions.


You may also like

View all
Example blog post
Example blog post
Example blog post