Alpha Brain Review: Doses, Daily Routine and Our Recommendation
Advertisement feature by Rootana. We benefit financially from sales of our top recommended products.
Alpha Brain is a more interesting comparison than “blends versus no blends” suggests. Some current doses are visible, and the product has published research. We still put ThinkEase first, with Rootana Pure Mind worth considering when a smaller serving matters.
Our best overall recommendation
ThinkEase
ThinkEase leads our formula-based shortlist. Pure Mind is the smaller-serving choice, and both offer a clean label with pullulan capsule and rice hull concentrate.
See ThinkEase’s full formulaAlpha Brain beside ThinkEase
Version assessed: Standard Alpha BRAIN capsules; current 90-count label. Comparison basis: 2 capsules.
Amounts refer to the stated serving for each product, not one capsule. Extract weights, raw-herb equivalents and elemental mineral amounts are different measurements.
Swipe the table to see every product column.
| Ingredient | ThinkEase 4 capsules |
Alpha Brain 2 capsules |
|---|---|---|
| Acetyl L-carnitine | 750 mg; hydrochloride | Not included |
| Lion’s mane | 550 mg; fruiting body | Not included |
| Bacopa | 300 mg; 50% bacosides | 100 mg; leaf and stem extract, within 240 mg Focus blend |
| N-acetyl L-tyrosine | 275 mg | Not included in the N-acetyl form; L-tyrosine is listed separately |
| Citicoline | 250 mg | Not included |
| L-theanine | 200 mg | Included in 650 mg Flow blend; individual amount not disclosed |
| Rhodiola | 200 mg; 3% rosavins and 1% salidroside | Not included |
| Phosphatidylserine | 100 mg; sunflower | Included in 650 mg Flow blend; individual amount not disclosed |
| Pine bark | 75 mg; 95% proanthocyanidins | Not included |
| Saffron | 30 mg; 0.3% safranal | Not included |
| PQQ | 10 mg | Not included |
| Lutein | 10 mg | Not included |
| Zeaxanthin | 2 mg | Not included |
| Vitamin B6 | 2.5 mg; P5P | 10 mg; pyridoxine hydrochloride |
| Folate | 167 mcg DFE from 100 mcg L-5-methylfolate | Not included |
| Vitamin B12 | 7.5 mcg; methylcobalamin | Not included |
| L-tyrosine | Not included as L-tyrosine; N-acetyl L-tyrosine is listed separately | Included in 650 mg Flow blend; individual amount not disclosed |
| Oat straw | Not included | Extract, included in 650 mg Flow blend; individual amount not disclosed |
| Cat’s claw | Not included | 350 mg; bark extract |
| Alpha-GPC | Not included | Included in 240 mg Focus blend; individual amount not disclosed |
| Huperzia | Not included | Whole-herb extract within Focus blend; label entry “1% Huperzine A, 400 mcg” does not establish 400 mcg of pure huperzine A |
| L-leucine | Not included | Included in 60 mg Fuel blend; individual amount not disclosed |
| Pterostilbene | Not included | Included in 60 mg Fuel blend; individual amount not disclosed |
“Not included” indicates confirmed absence from the assessed formula. “Not verified” identifies a gap in the information available for this comparison; it does not mean the manufacturer hides the amount.
ThinkEase: 16 active ingredients; caffeine-free. Compare botanical extracts by both amount and specification, not milligrams alone.
Alpha Brain: Current standard 90-count capsule panel; 2 capsules per serving. Flow 650 mg, Focus 240 mg and Fuel 60 mg are blend totals, not additional amounts to add to their ingredients. Caffeine is not included.
Capsule and other ingredients
ThinkEase: Pullulan capsule and NuFLOW rice-hull concentrate.
Alpha Brain: Hypromellose capsule, maltodextrin and rice-hull concentrate.
Read the blend entries carefully
Alpha Brain states 100 mg bacopa, but not separate theanine or phosphatidylserine amounts. ThinkEase and Pure Mind specify each active dose. All three assessed formulas are caffeine-free.
A reason to take the competitor seriously
A six-week controlled study reported a verbal-memory finding for Alpha Brain. That product-level evidence deserves attention alongside the limitations of a small trial and the exact formula studied. [1]
We nevertheless prefer a label that lets us inspect all active amounts. ThinkEase’s 250 mg citicoline and 200 mg theanine make its formulation easier to assess before purchase, without claiming they prove better results.
Where Rootana Pure Mind fits
Rootana Pure Mind shares ThinkEase’s 16-active selection at generally smaller amounts, including 150 mg theanine. Its three capsules sit between the standard two-capsule Alpha Brain serving and ThinkEase’s four. Clean-label positioning applies to both Pure Mind and ThinkEase: each uses pullulan and rice hull concentrate.
Read about Rootana Pure MindAlternatives: our three recommended options
1 · Best overall
ThinkEase
The fuller four-capsule choice, with 16 stated active amounts. It supplies 300 mg bacopa, 250 mg citicoline and 200 mg theanine. Its clean label uses only pullulan capsule and rice hull concentrate as other ingredients.
Explore ThinkEase2 · Smaller serving · clean profile
Rootana Pure Mind
Our three-capsule option keeps the same 16-active selection, generally at about three-quarters of ThinkEase’s amounts. It supplies 225 mg bacopa and 187.5 mg citicoline. Both brands share the same short pullulan-and-rice-hull other-ingredient list.
See Rootana Pure Mind3 · Basic alternative
Mind Vitality
A botanical formula whose official table includes bacopa, lion’s mane and phosphatidylserine. It is our third choice behind the more fully specified leading formulas. Use the official Mind Vitality destination below for the product discussed here.
See official Mind VitalityFor context on evaluating a formula, see our introduction to nootropics.
Assessment and suitability
These recommendations come from Rootana’s review of identified product versions and relevant research. We have not personally tested these products for this article. We favor clear quantities, appropriate ingredient detail and a practical serving. Those criteria do not establish that the highest dose or longest list produces the best clinical result.
Product information checked 7 September 2026. Formulas can change; check the exact current version before buying. A supplement is not a treatment for a cognitive disorder. Seek professional advice for new or worsening symptoms, or to check suitability with medications and health conditions.